Whip It!

Being a rollergirl is no easy job … skating in 100+ LV heat, hard hitting blockers, rink rash,  fishnet burn… sometimes I need a little help dialing it all the way up to Fabulous.

Several months ago I did the 4-day Facelift Cleanse found in Super Cleanse: Detox Your Body for Long-Lasting Health and Beauty.

My variation on this quick and easy smoothie is one of my go to recipes when I need a quick pick me up and want to avoid that can of soda, second cup of coffee or energy drink. For the record, Super Cleanse is NOT one of those lemon and hot sauce diets, I recommend this book to anyone who has healthy eating habit and needs a jump start after a booze and fast-food filled vacation or holiday weekend OR anyone who wants to kick the junk food habit cold turkey and needs a detox to get them started. There are over a dozen different cleanses tailored to your goals, health and experience with raw foods.

Strawberry Almond Smoothie

For that extra whip!

Strawberry Almond Smoothie

1c Almond Milk
12-15 strawberries (fresh or frozen)
2 capsules Primrose (or Flaxseed) Oil
1 capsule Bee Propolis
1 capsule Glucosamine & MSM
1 capsule L-carnitine

Pour all the ingredients in blender and mix on low, then liquefy. Add more Almond Milk for a thinner consistency.

Supplement Cheat Sheet

Primrose (or Flaxseed) Oil – essential fatty acid
Bee Propolis – energy and immune support
Glucosamine & MSM – joint health
L-carnitine – transports fatty acids

NOTE: Be sure to check with your doctor or pharmacist before taking any new supplements.

What do you drink or eat when you need a pick me up? Share your recipes here!

About Shock Kira

When I'm not on the track or busy being fabulous I enjoy cooking, sewing and misc crafts.
This entry was posted in Books, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Whip It!

  1. Face says:

    Yum!
    I’ve never thought of supplementing my smoothies with anything other than vodka!
    I think I need to check out this book. Our season opener is right around the corner…

Leave a comment